Site hosted by Build your free website today!




(Last Updated: 22 September 2009)


Back to Main Page I General Introduction I Whoís Who I New Translations

Interviews with Authors and Translators I Reader Feedback I Links I Coming Soon I Whatís New


Although mystery/adventure series like the Famous Five and Secret Seven are among Enid Blytonís best-loved works, she has also written a number of equally beloved (and in the case of Noddy, iconic) fantasy series for younger children. Like Blytonís books for older readers, these series usually have child characters, but in addition, they have a number of supernatural or magical characters like elves, fairies, hobgoblins and so on.


One of Blytonís best-known and most-loved fantasy series is The Magic Faraway Tree. It only had four books in it, but these books (namely, The Enchanted Wood, The Magic Faraway Tree, The Folk of the Faraway Tree and Up the Faraway Tree) contain some unforgettable characters like Moonface, the Saucepan Man, Dame Slap and Mr Whatshisname. And then there were all the amazing and magical lands at the top of the Faraway Tree itself.


Now in 2008, the Magic Faraway Tree series is being reprised in a spinoff/continuation series called The Enchanted World. This series focuses on Silky the Fairy, along with four new fairy friends called Melody, Petal, Pinx and Bizzy. Thereís an evil troll called Talon who has rather unpleasant designs on the Magic Faraway Tree, and itís up to these five fairies (a sort of fairy Famous Five?) to save the tree from him. The new series, officially commissioned and authorised by Chorion, is written by Elise Allen. There are seven books in the series, which is aimed at girls aged seven and up. The first three titles were published in September 2008, while the remaining four have been published in 2009. Egmont is the publisher for this series.


No.: 1

Title: Silky and the Rainbow Feather

Year of First Publication: 2008


No.: 2

Title: Melody and the Enchanted Harp

Year of First Publication: 2008


No.: 3

Title: Petal and the Eternal Bloom

Year of First Publication: 2008


No.: 4

Title: Pinx and the Ring of Midnight

Year of First Publication: 2009


No.: 5

Title: Bizzy and the Bedtime Bear

Year of First Publication: 2009


No.: 6

Title: Silky and the Everlasting Candle

Year of First Publication: 2009


No.: 7

Title: Melody and the Gemini Locket

Year of First Publication: 2009



Explore More in This Section:


Noddy Continuation Novels


The Wishing-Chair Continuation Novels



Back to Overview of Enid Blyton Continuation Series




Back to Main Page